Saturday, January 4, 2014

TigerChicken in coconut milk

so this soup is easily one of my favorites.... it is easy to make, it smells divine and taste just as good when done right... and as a bonus it is really easy to change it toward what you are keeping around the house.. anywho lets go look at some ingredients

for one person you would need around

100g       Chicken
5-7         Tiger prawns, cleaned up
50g         Onions, chopped
1-2         Cloves of garlic, finely chopped
100g       Mushrooms
150g       Carrots, diced
50g         Water chestnuts, sliced
1tsp        Green curry paste
4dl          Chicken stock
165 ml    Coconut milk
              The green of one spring onion
              Cooking oil
              Lime juice
              Ouster sauce or Fish sauce
              Salt and Pepper

well that was the easy part... now for the cooking part...

chicken is cut out in dices and scorched in a pot with onion and garlic (this is the first time we need some of that oil) when the surface is closed ad the curry paste and give it some heat while stirring it around.

add the coconut milk and the chicken stock and bring to a boil.

meanwhile saute the clean and slightly chopped mushrooms and water chestnuts in a pan. Preferable separately. When given some color add to the soup

lastly ad the carrots and the prawns after about a couple of minutes (given how finely diced the carrots are) the soup is basically done..

season with lime juice, fish sauce and salt and pepper.

serve in a bowl and sprinkle with spring onion and serve some good bread on the side....

well that is how simple it is... and trust me it is so good.. if you like it more spiced you can add chili and more garlic and even a little bit of ginger. Also to enhance the flavors try adding just a tiny bit off sugar.

anyway that was the first soup of this January.... Enjoy

Friday, January 3, 2014

SilverChild on Diet

oh wow i have been bad at doing this thing.. guess school got in the way.. .anywho let us go and turn a new leaf and call i 2014 (basically because it is just that) so as a lot of people know after new year there is all this flying around with resolutions and fair enough i have practiced the failing of these for some years... as late as yesterday i found one from January 2013 that had failed well miserably since instead of loosing weight i have actually gain quite a bit the last year... and sure enough this year comes up with a similar resolution... I want to be healthy... this year however there is a catch.. other than i really really wanna get rid of that belly i have put in the last year, am tired of always being sick, having a really odd kinda hiccup and being in pain for a huge amount of my time.... i have to loose some weight so that i can go flying for my summer vacation... oh yeah and i have actually started before the start off 2014 even though i have had my share of the Christmas food too..

so is it gonna go better this year when i have failed all the others? oh dang i hope so... i am so tired of my life being this way that it just have to change... i mean wheres the fun in being able to do so little? so here i am gonna crank up the amount of exercise and just in general eat healthy... get my vitamins you know... even though i do tend to be great at getting them as it is...

and then we are at the beginning of it all with sadly not shocking 110kg i am ready to rumble my way through January on mainly soup.. why because i like soup and it is healthy and in season and so on... and i will try and write more.. recipes, small jokes, the process of it all..

so to the people that might read this i hope you will enjoy the ride and lets hope those kg will melt away ;)